Ion3’s OnStar Antenna for XM Purposes

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 10:38 AM

first, im glad to join a sight dedicated to Saturns. I just purchased my first Saturn, a 2007 Ion3 Sedan. I've been doing car audio systems for 18 yrs now and I'm not stopping now: the Ion has a future in the world of mobile electronics.

My first hurdle is the mandatory OnStar system that I got. I am hoping to utilize the existing Onstar antenna as my XM antenna as it serves both functions for vehicles with the XM or Sirrius packages (confirmed at the dealership). I got behind the headliner this weekend and found that the connections for the OnStar antenna are the same as any XM or Sirrius receiver which makes me think that all I have to do is buy an XM antenna cable and run it to my XM receiver.

does anyone know anything about using the OnStar antenna for this purpose?

Old 11-28-2006, 11:53 PM

I believe on your car saturn makes their own digital antenna for the XM and another onefor onstar...For using the onstar antenna for XM radio purpose i don't know...If you are considering disconnecting you onstar antenna using it as a XM radio antenna i don't know if you should do it. It will interfer with the vehicle communication system and will set a fault in the BCM for onstar inop.

Last edited by sw2cam; 03-21-2009 at 11:40 AM.
Old 11-29-2006, 08:45 AM

what would happen if the BCM had a fault for the onstar? to be absolutely honest, i never wanted onstar. i dont want onstar. i dont need onstar. it was a feature that was mandatory to get if you bought the car. so, if it faulted, would it be a major ordeal or simply me put me back to a point that i want to be in anyway (w/o onstar)? i had intentions of yanking the onstar out anyway, or at least the brain and mirror (and replacing the mirror with one that self adjusts to light and has a compass such as what's in my 95 F150).